MCATA (Math Council of Alberta Teachers' Association)

Go to content

Main menu

Alberta Mathematics Educator Award

Grants and Awards

Alberta Mathematics Educator Award

A maximum of three mathematics educator awards may be conferred annually in recognition of demonstrated leadership in mathematics education in Alberta. These awards will be presented to the recipients at the MCATA annual conference. The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque, certificate and registration at the current annual conference. Award recipient names will be published in MCATA publications.

Selection Criteria
Awards may be conferred upon individuals in each of the following categories:
Kindergarten – Grade 6 classroom teachers
Grades 7 – 12 classroom teachers
Those who have made exceptional contributions to professional development of teachers at the school, local, provincial or national levels and who have demonstrated leadership in encouraging the continuing enhancement of teaching, learning and understanding of mathematics in Alberta.
No more than one award will be conferred in each category, and the conferring of awards will be contingent upon there being deserving recipients in each category.

Nomination Procedure
Nominators must be current members of MCATA.
Nominations for the award must be forwarded to the selection committee. A complete nomination application includes the following:
· Information about nominee (Part 1 on reverse side)
· Information about nominator (Part 2 on reverse side)
· Three letters of support that reflect the criteria listed above

For more information, contact the Director of Awards and Grants –

Carmen Wasylynuik
1429, 8810 Royal Birch Boulevard NW
Calgary, AB T3G 6A9

Recent Recipients

Monica Andrew
2017: Scott Seland
2016: Holly Hudema
2013: Leann Miller

Application Form

Back to content | Back to main menu