MCATA (Math Council of Alberta Teachers' Association)

Go to content

Main menu

Dr. Arthur Jorgensen Award

Grants and Awards

Dr. Arthur Jorgensen Chair Award

(MCATA Student Teacher Award)

This award is presented by the Mathematics Council of the Alberta Teachers' Association (MCATA), to encourage students enrolled in education programs in post-secondary institutions throughout Alberta to pursue and commit to mathematics education.

The award consists of

a one-year term on the MCATA Executive, with expenses paid to attend Executive meetings (as per article 3.4 of the MCATA handbook).
a one -year membership in MCATA and NCTM
an invitation to attend one MCATA Conference with appropriate expenses paid, subject to the approval of the executive committee. (eg . substitute teacher, one night accommodation, travel and meals not included in the conference registration)

The recipient of this award must be enrolled in a degree program in a Faculty of Education in Alberta. The recipient will be selected on the basis of demonstrated academic excellence and a clear commitment to mathematics education in either specialization in Mathematics at the secondary level; or a keen interest and desire to expand mathematics knowledge at the elementary level.

Applicants must apply by April 30 of the current year to: Dr. Arthur Jorgensen Chair Award c/o Director of Awards and Grants ( ).
Applicants must submit a letter of reference from a faculty member in their school of education .
Applicants must complete MCATA application form and address each of the questions or statements found on the application form.
A selection committee of the Mathematics Council of the Alberta Teachers' Association will make the final choice of recipient for this award.

Dr. Arthur Jorgensen Chair Award Recipients

2019 Merrick Fanning
2018 Dale Block
2015 Matthew McDonald
2012 Bernadette McMechan
2011 Paul Bechtold

Application Form

Back to content | Back to main menu