Canadian Mathematical Society 1981 Alberta High School Prize Examination Results

Frize	\$Amt.	Student	School
Canadian Mathematical Society Scholarship	400	BARAGAR, Arthur	Old Scona Academic H.S. Edmonton, Alberta
Nickle Foundation Scholarship	400	PHAN, Thong	St. Mary's Community School Calgary, Alberta
First runner-up	150	ZUNG, Malcom	M.E. LaZerte Composite H.S. Edmonton, Alberta
Second runner-up	150	HUYNH, Phong	Harry Ainlay Composite H.S. Edmonton, Alberta

Special Provincial Prizes

Highest Grade 12 student (below first 3)	75	BOWMAN, John	Old Scona Academic H.S. Edmonton, Alberta
Highest Grade 10/11 student (below first 3)	75	KALANTAR, Daniel	Old Scona Academic H.S. Edmonton, Alberta

District Prizes

District No.					
1	50	HAWLEY, Michael	George P. Vanier School Donnelly, Alberta		
2	50	TUCKEY, David	Lorne Jenken H.S. Barrhead, Alberta		
3	50	WICENTOWICH, Margaret	Vegreville Composite H.S. Vegreville, Alberta		
4	50	McILRAVEY, Michael	Lindsay Thurber Composite H.S. Red Deer, Alberta		
5	50	SINNAMON, Norman	Prairie High School Three Hills, Alberta		
6	50	DAVIES, John	Lethbridge Collegiate Institute Lethbridge, Alberta		
7(1)	50	EWONIAK, Ronald	Ross Sheppard Composite H.S. Edmonton, Alberta		
7(2)	50	FEYGIN, Gennady	Ross Sheppard Composite H.S. Edmonton, Alberta		
8(1)	50	CRAIG, Scott	Henry Wise Wood Senior H.S. Calgary, Alberta		
8(2)	50	WONG, James	Bishop Grandin High School Calgary, Alberta		

424 students from 68 schools in Alberta and the Northwest Territories wrote the 1981 examination. The following students took the first 22 places and are nominated to write the Canadian Mathematical Olympiad:

Student

School

BARAGAR, Arthur ZUNG, Malcom HUYNH, Phong PHAN, Thong BOWMAN, John CRAIG. Scott EWONIAK, Ronald FEYGIN, Gennady KALANTAR, Daniel McILRAVEY, Michael LEUNG, Andrew WONG, James DOETZEL, Randy ROEHL, Dean WLASICHUK, Richard CHOI, Man LIU, Ryan ZATREPALEK, Kenneth TUCKEY, David HAWLEY, Michael BRETT, John FLEGEL, Michael

Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton M.E. LaZerte Composite High School, Edmonton Harry Ainlay Composite High, Edmonton St. Mary's Community School, Calgary Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton Henry Wise Wood Senior High School, Calgary Ross Sheppard Composite High School, Edmonton Ross Sheppard Composite High School, Edmonton Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton Lindsay Thurber Composite High School, Red Deer M.E. LaZerte Composite High School, Edmonton Bishop Grandin High School, Calgary St. Thomas Aquinas School, Provost Harry Ainlay Composite High, Edmonton Jasper Place Composite High School, Edmonton James Fowler Senior High, Calgary Bishop Grandin High School, Calgary Henry Wise Wood Senior High School, Calgary Lorne Jenken High School, Barrhead George P. Vanier School, Donnelly Viscount Bennett Jr./Sr. High, Calgary Sir Winston Churchill High, Calgary

The following students placed 23-34:

Greg Anglin (Dr. E.P. Scarlett H.S., Calgary); Mark Benning (St. Joseph's Composite H.S., Edmonton); Stephen Doyle (Archbishop Macdonald H.S., Edmonton); Tim Fowlow (Sir Winston Churchill H.S., Calgary); Emil Ochotta (Harry Ainlay Composite H.S., Edmonton); David Pentyliuk (McNally H.S., Edmonton; Larry Prymych (H.A. Kostash H.S., Smoky Lake); Dennis Rouault (Sturgeon Composite H.S., Namao); Ashley Rowland (Sir Winston Churchill H.S., Calgary); Perry Spitzer (Lorne Jenken H.S., Barrhead); Daniel Stephen (Ross Sheppard Composite H.S., Edmonton); Margaret Wicentowich (Vegreville Composite H.S., Vegreville).

The following students placed 35-50:

Naved Ali (Archbishop Macdonald H.S., Edmonton); Loren Andruko (Old Scona Academic H.S., Edmonton); Clara Chow (James Fowler H.S., Calgary); John Davies (Lethbridge Collegiate Institute, Lethbridge); Robert Gardner (McNally Composite H.S., Edmonton); Robert Geddes (Camrose Lutheran College, Camrose); Kevin Hildebrand (Lindsay Thurber Composite H.S., Red Deer); Thomas Kalantar (Old Scona Academic H.S., Edmonton); Heather Konrad (Harry Ainlay Composite H.S., Edmonton); Don Koziak (Louis St. Laurent H.S., Edmonton); Michael Lee (Old Scona Academic H.S., Edmonton); Lawrence Liu (Camrose Lutheran College, Camrose); Bruce Ollerenshaw (Sir Winston Churchill H.S., Calgary); Garry Sasseville (Wainwright H.S., Wainwright); Norman Sinnamon (Prairie H.S., Three Hills); Darryl Turner (Ross Sheppard Composite H.S., Edmonton).