Western Canada Protocol Mathematics Team

The Western Canada Protocol Mathematics Project began in 1994 as part of the Western Canada Protocol for Collaboration in Basic Education, which was signed by ministers of education for British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, the Yukon and the Northwest Territories. The team leader for the project is Hugh Sanders from Alberta Education. Through the collaborative efforts of teachers and ministry personnel, the first part of the common curriculum framework has been completed. Copies were sent to all schools in Alberta before September '95. Implementation in Alberta begins in September '96 with Grades 7 and 9.

In August and November '95, the team worked on common curriculum outcomes for Grades 10–12 mathematics programs. The team comprised over 30 people, about 75 percent of whom were actively teaching in various high school programs. The purpose was to develop and exemplify curriculum outcomes for high school students who have successfully completed the outcomes documented in the K–9 program. Outcomes were developed under the working headings "pure" and "applied"; many of these outcomes were later chosen as "common" because

all high school students, no matter what their program, should be achieving these. The various jurisdictions will group the outcomes into courses that fit their own high school framework. A high school course sequence may be structured from a combination of common, pure and applied outcomes, depending on the needs of the students for whom it is being developed. Each province or territory will continue to determine how much of this mathematics program is required for graduation.

Participants struggled with the problem of how technology should be used with the program. After trying out the T192 calculators, provided by Bob Hart, we became even more aware of the effect such technology will have on mathematics education. Many were concerned about who will pay for this technology so that students will have it available in classrooms.

Alberta teachers involved in this work were Lea Beeken, Bob Hart*, Elaine Manzer*, Kathy McCabe, Bruce Peers and Marian Oberg*. (* Representatives chosen by the ATA.)

Marian Oberg



Western Canada Protocol Mathematics Team