Mathematics Council Constitution

as amended to October 5, 1973.

NAME - The name of this organization shall be Mathematics Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association. (MCATA)

OBJECT - The object of this organization shall be to promote and advance the teaching of mathematics throughout the province, especially in elementary and secondary schools.

MEMBERSHIP - (a) Any member of The Alberta Teachers' Association, or non-member covered by the Teachers' Retirement Fund.

(b) Any certificated teacher in private schools.

(c) Any member of a university in Alberta or Department of

Education.

(d) Anyone interested in the teaching of mathematics.

FEES - Membership fees may be established by resolution at the annual general meeting of this council.

FINANCES - The Executive Committee shall have power to collect fees and to make expenditures. A financial statement shall be submitted to the annual general meeting.

OFFICERS - The officers of this council shall consist of a president, a vice-president, a past president, a secretary and a treasurer, to be elected for a term of one year, by distributed ballot, and a member appointed by the Executive Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - The Executive Committee shall consist of the officers, one member from the faculty of education from a university in Alberta, one member from the Department of Mathematics of a university in Alberta, one member from the Department of Education and six directors to be appointed by the officers from the following: editor of the annual, editor of the newsletter, the chairmen of committees, the presidents of regional councils, members at large, provided that each university representative be appointed for a two-year term and also that the two university representatives not be from the same university and provided that the directors be appointed to ensure that the executive committee includes at least two representatives of each elementary, junior high and senior high school teachers. One member of the executive committee shall be designated as NCTM representative.

COMMITTEES - The Executive may appoint from time to time such committees as are necessary to carry on work of the council.

LIAISON - Any communication policy which this council wishes to make with any organization, government department, or other agency, within or without the province, shall be conducted through the Executive of The Alberta Teachers' Association or other regular channels of the Association.

REGIONAL COUNCILS - The Executive Committee of this council shall encourage the establishment of regional councils and shall have authority to determine regional boundaries and to establish regulations governing the organization of regional councils, consistent with this constitution.

agra 🚉

REPORTS - The Executive Committee shall submit annually a written report of its activities to The Alberta Teachers' Association, prior to December 31. The activities reported shall be for the preceding school year.

AMENDMENTS - After three months notice of motion to amend the constitution has been given to each member, this constitution may be amended by two-thirds majority vote of the members present at any annual general meeting of this council, subject to ratification by the Executive Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association.

GENERAL MEETINGS - The Mathematics Council shall hold an annual general meeting each year. At least thirty days' notice shall be given for all general meetings.

DISSOLUTION - In the event of dissolution of the Mathematics Council all funds will be turned over to the ATA.

Mathematics Council Executive – 1973-74

President Dr. W. George Cathcart 11511 - 35A Avenue Edmonton	Res 435-1949 Bus 432-5880	Faculty of Education Representative Dr. Mary Beaton Res 282-6825 657 Northmount Drive NW Bus Calgary
Vice-President Denis Baudin Box 2069 Edson	Res 693-2469 Bus 723-3815	Dept. of Education Representative Wilf Lencucha Res Room 236, Admin. Bldg. Bus Community College Lethbridge
Past President Dick Daly 3716 - 107 Street Edmonton	Res 435-1342 Bus 434-5472	Mathematics Representative Dr. Joan Kirkpatrick Res University of Alberta Bus Edmonton
Secretary Jake Woloshchuk 936 Cannell Road SW Calgary	Res 281-3772 Bus	Editor of <i>Delta-K</i> Ed Carriger Res 843-6138 R.R. 1, Site 2, Box 3 Bus 843-6528 Bluffton
Treasurer Donald H. Hinde Box 741 Lacombe	Res 782-3276 Bus	Editor of Monograph No.2 Dr. Bruce Harrison Res 284-1595 Faculty of Education Bus 284-5645 University of Calgary
ATA Representative Dr. Mel Sillito Barnett House 11010 - 142 Street	Res 459-4811 Bus 453-2411	Calgary Directors Ed Carriger
NCTM Representative Dr. W. George Cathcart	r*	Stuart McCormick Res 469-0972 6428 - 84 Street Bus 466-2976 Edmonton
bi. w. deorge outhear		Edward Mitchell Res 743-2052 Box 1355 Bus Fort McMurray
		George Stepney Res 454-1028 12414 - 125 Street Bus Edmonton

Delta-K is a publication of the Mathematics Council, ATA. Editor: Ed Carriger,
R.R.1, Site 2, Box 3, Bluffton. Publisher: The Alberta Teachers' Association,
11010 - 142 Street, Edmonton T5N 2R1. Editorial and Production Service: Communications Department, ATA. All correspondence about this publication should
be addressed to the Editor.