### Mathematics Council Constitution

#### I NAME

The name of this organization shall be Mathematics Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association (MCATA).

#### II OBJECT

The object of this organization shall be to promote and advance the teaching of mathematics throughout the Province, especially in the elementary and secondary schools.

#### III MEMBERSHIP

- (a) Any member of The Alberta Teachers' Association or non-member covered by the Teachers' Retirement Fund.
- (b) Any certificated teacher in private schools.
- (c) Any member of a university in Alberta or Department of Education.

#### IV FEES

Membership fees may be established by resolution at the annual general meeting of this Council.

#### V FINANCES

The Executive Committee shall have power to collect fees and to make expenditures. A financial statement shall be submitted to the annual general meeting.

#### VI OFFICERS

The officers of this Council shall consist of a president, a vice-president, a past president, a secretary and a treasurer to be elected for a term of one year, by distributed ballot, and a member appointed by the Provincial Executive Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association.

The term of office for elected officers is July 1 to June 30.

#### VII FXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Executive Committee shall consist of the officers and the following members to be appointed by the officers:

- (a) six directors for a one-year term appointed in such a way as to ensure that at least three members of the executive committee are representatives of each of elementary and secondary teachers, and that at least one member is a representative of each of junior high and senior high teachers,
- (b) one representative from the Department of Education for a two-year term,

- (c) two representatives from universities in Alberta, one from a Faculty of Education and one from a Department of Mathematics, provided that two different universities are represented, each for a two-year term, and
- (d) one newsletter editor who also serves as publicity chairman, for a one-year term.

One member of the Executive Committee shall be designated as representative to the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

All appointments terminate as of June 30.

#### VIII COMMITTEES

The Executive may appoint from time to time such committees as are necessary to carry on work of the Council.

#### IX LIAISON

Any communication regarding policy which this Council wishes to make with any organization, government department or other agency, within or without the Province, shall be conducted through the Provincial Executive Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association or other regular channels of the Association.

#### X REPORTS

This Council shall submit annually a written report of its activities and an audited financial statement to The Alberta Teachers' Association by October 1 of each year. The activities reported shall be for the preceding year.

#### XI AMENDMENTS

After three months' notice of motion to amend the constitution has been given to each member, this constitution may be amended by a two-thirds majority vote of the members present at any annual general meeting of this Council, subject to ratification by the Provincial Executive Council of The Alberta Teachers' Association.

#### XII GENERAL MEETINGS

An annual general meeting shall be held each year, and conducted by the officers of the previous year. At least thirty days' notice shall be given for all general meetings.

#### XIII DISSOLUTION

In the event of dissolution of the Mathematics Council, all funds will be turned over to The Alberta Teachers' Association.

Ratified by Table Officers of Provincial Executive Council on December 9, 1976.

# **Mathematics Council Executive 1976-77**

	Res/Bus		Res/Bus
President Dr. K. Allen Neugeld Dept. of Elem. Education Edmonton, Alberta TGG 2G5	436-0571 432-4188	Director Ms. Pat Beeler John Ware Jr. High School 10020 - 19 Street S.W. Calgary, Alberta T2V 1R2	938 <b>-</b> 4901 253-5320
Vice President Mr. Robert Holt Dept. of Elementary Education University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G5	462-1847 429-5621	Director Mr. Francis Somerville Faculty of Education University of Calgary Calgary T2N 1N4	249-8056 284-5465
Past President On. W. George Cathcart Dept. of Elem. Education University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1	435-1949 432-4153	Director Ms. Audrey Brattberg Stratford Jr High School 8715-153 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5R 1P1	424-8769 484-3381
Secretary Dr. Arthur Jorgensen Box 2069 Edson, Alberta TOE OPO	723-5370 723-4471	ATA Representative Mr. D.J. Corse 11010 - 142 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5N 2R1	434-0487 453-2411
Treasurer Mr. Donald H. Hinde Box 741 Lacombe, Alberta TOC 150	782-6849 782-3812	Representative Mr. Arthur Peddicond Department of Education 3rd. Fl., Edward's Prof. Bldg. 10053 - 111 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2H8	435-7075 427-2952
Director Mr. Earle Warnica Lethbridge School District #51. 433 - 15 Street S. Lethbridge, Alberta TlJ 2Z5	328-8005 327-4521	Representative Mr. John Pencevault Faculty of Education University of Lethbridge Lethbridge, Alberta TIK 3M4	328-1259 329-2257
Director Mr. Lyle Pagnucco Forest Lawn High School 1304 - 44 Street S.E. Calgary, Alberta T2A 1M8	271-0259 272-6665	Representative  Dr. A.S.B. Holland  Department of Mathematics  University of Calgary  Calgary, Alberta  T2N 1N4	286-5935 284-7196
Director & NCTM Representative Mr. Matt Pawluk Edmonton Pub. School Board 10010 - 107A Aveenue Edmonton, Alberta T5H 0Z8	469-6813 429-5621	Newsletter Editor & Publicity Chairman Mr. Ed Carriger RR #1, Site 2, Box 3 Bluffton, Alberta TOC OMO	843-6138 843-6528

Delta-K is a publication of the Mathematics Council, ATA. Editor: Ed Carriger, R.R.1, Site 2, Box 3, Bluffton. Publisher: The Alberta Teachers' Association, 11010 - 142 Street, Edmonton T5N 2R1. Editorial and Production Services: Communications Department, ATA. Opinions of writers are not necessarily those of either the Mathematics Council or The Alberta Teachers' Association. Please address correspondence regarding this publication to the editor.

## Mathematics Council, ATA 17th Annual Conference

### October 14 & 15 - Red Deer Lodge

Feature Speakers & Sessions-

ROBERT WIRTZ, Lecturer and writer from Carmel, California, will present the Friday evening session and a session for elementary teachers on Saturday.

DR. ERIC MACPHERSON, Dean of the Faculty of Education, University of Manitoba, will present the luncheon address and a session for secondary teachers.

Idea Exchanges - nine mini-sessions at all levels.

Pre-Registration - (Prior to September 30)

Detach and mail to: D. Hinde, Box 741 Lacombe, Alberta, TOC 1S0

### MATHEMATICS COUNCIL, ATA --- 17th ANNUAL CONFERENCE

Name	(including luncheon):	
Mailing Address	BEFORE Sept. 30 - AFTER MCATA Member \$16.00 \$18.0 Non-Member (incl. \$23.50 \$25.5	0
	membership) Student Members \$ 7.00 \$ 9.0 Non-Members (incl. \$11.00 \$13.0 membership) Additional luncheon \$ 7.00 each	0 _
	tickets	
Please make cheques payable to: MATHEMATICS COUNCIL, ATA	MCATA MEMBERSHIP Regular \$7.50 Student \$4.00 New, Renewal	-
and mail to: D. Hinde Box 741 Lacombe, Alberta TOC 1S0	NCTM MEMBERSHIP (Optional) With Arithmetic Teacher \$13.00 With Mathematics Teacher \$13.00 With Both Journals \$20.00 New Renewal	

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

New , Renewal

TOTAL \$ \_\_\_\_